One Room Challenge Week 6 – Master bedroom reveal

Cross the master bedroom makeover off my Home Goals 2015 list. Thanks to the One Room Challenge, this room is D-O-N-E.

Want to catch up on how we got here? Here are all of the previous posts:

It was hard for me to stay motivated in this makeover. The ORC was the push I needed to finally finish it off. I have to admit that I’m glad the room is done. Even better, I’m glad that it’s pretty… if I do say so myself.

Navy blue and white master bedroom

I think you’ll agree it’s definitely more stylish than where we started.

Master bedroom before and after

The best descriptors for this makeover are three words: simple, DIY and personal.

Simple

We kept things simple by working with what we already had.

First up was fresh paint for everything: ceiling, walls, trim, the door and even the old garage sale dresser we bought when we moved into our first house. After going round and round on paint colour, I love the deep navy blue I chose for the walls (Hale Navy by Benjamin Moore).

White dresser with aged brass hardware

Paint took care of most of the transformation, but it only went so far.

For those that have been following along, you know the finish on the sliding closet doors was in pretty rough shape. I didn’t want to replace the doors though (remember, we were working with what we had), so I tried wallpaper for the first time. With a bit of help from my parents and two rolls of beadboard wallpaper, we added a nice country touch to the bedroom.

Navy and white master bedroom

Where we didn’t go country was the lighting. Matt’s reaction when he first saw the chandelier was one word: “Liberace.”

Hello, sparkles.

Brass and crystal chandelier

Even with this light, we were still able to work with what we had (although not that awful ceiling fan, thank goodness) thanks to one of my co-workers. She invited me over to see her new (to her) house, and as we were eating dinner in the dining room she mentioned that they were going to replace the lighting. I said, “I’ll take it!” (Yes, I’m that dinner guest).

I wasn’t sure where I was going to use such a sparkly, brassy, glassy, shiny chandelier–we do live on a farm, after all–but it’s a perfect fit for this bedroom. Navy, brass, sparkle, white, wood… yes, please.

I love this view when I’m lying in bed. Also lovely is the smooth unstippled ceiling above it.

Brass and crystal chandelier

Which brings us to the DIY stage of this makeover (not that painting and lighting aren’t DIY).

DIY

Scraping the stipple ceiling was definitely the most involved DIY in this room. The other DIYs were much easier, but, given my lack of motivation throughout this makeover, tedious.

Well, not completely tedious. I knocked out a couple of hookboards really quickly. Having lots of hooks behind the door helps to corral the piles of clothes that appear so regularly in our bedroom. And if I’m being honest, these hooks are usually smothered in pyjamas and dog-walking clothes, not a pretty scarf and handbag–although Matt’s baseball cap is genuine.

Brass and white hookboards

The headboard was a difficult DIY just because I couldn’t decide what to do. Should it be upholstered? Painted? Curved? Square? It couldn’t stick up too high because it was going in front of the window. I didn’t want to spend too much money because some day post-whole house reno I hope to have a new master bedroom where I can build the wing chair style headboard of my dreams.

I finally decided on a simple wood headboard in an interesting shape. A leftover sheet of plywood and some careful cutting with my jigsaw fulfilled my vision.

After mixing a few cans of stain together, I was able to get a finish that’s a pretty close match to the nightstands from Matt’s childhood bedroom–although I had a really hard time photographing the headboard in front of the window, so I realize it’s kind of hard to tell.

I love the accents of the warm wood against the deep blue and bright white.

Navy, wood and white master bedroom

The other DIYs in this room involved a less typical power tool–my sewing machine. Although the fabric I sewed is a DIY staple–canvas drop cloths. I love the weight and the colour of these drop cloths. I used them for both the curtains and the bedskirt, and I will definitely be using them in future projects.

The window treatments will get their own post soon. They’re super simple, yet we have everything we could ever want: blackout blinds, bamboo blinds for style and full length pinch-pleated curtains–style and function

Navy and white master bedroom

Personal

The final guiding principle of this makeover–of my overall decorating philosophy–is to make it personal.

First up is the quilt on the bed. The quilt is from Walmart, but its patchwork pattern is special to me.

My grandmother was a quilter, so I’ve been exposed to this intricate handcraft my whole life. The double wedding ring pattern has been my favourite for years. I love the symbolism of having this pattern on Matt’s and my bed.

I admit, I wasn’t sure about the patterned quilt as this makeover progressed. So many rooms I see online are all about white or neutral bedding. I think that the quilt works in the room though, and it’s a lesson for me to use what I love, not what’s trendy or stylish.

Blue and white master bedroom

The other really personal element is the art that I chose.

The two pictures on either side of the bed are beautiful Audubon posters. On my side is a Great Blue Heron, an elusive bird that visits the pond occasionally. It’s always really special when I catch a glimpse of one. On Matt’s side is his favourite bird to see at the farm, the wild turkey.

Audubon prints

The final art can’t get much more personal, a family tree. I made each of my sisters a family tree like this when they got married with their wedding date in the middle circle. Now Matt and I have one of our own. (If you want one of your own, Martha–who else?–has a free template).

Fan family tree

So simple + DIY + personal. Plus six weeks (okay, a little bit more). Plus a whole lot of motivation from all of you reading along and all of the other participants in the One Room Challenge. Equals one beautiful master bedroom. Thanks so much for following along.

Visit Calling it Home to check out all of the other amazing reveals.

50 thoughts on “One Room Challenge Week 6 – Master bedroom reveal

  1. I also thought it was the inspiration photo at first! You did a truly lovely job; it looks fabulous! I love the quilt in the room. The art is wonderful as well! What a great transformation. (Though I do miss that monkey…jk, lol)

  2. Lovely. I’ve been reading through your blog and wanted to say “hi!”The bird posters are my favorite.

  3. It looks nice Julia. Great job pulling this all together for the ORC. My mom is a quilter, and her mom was too. I have a soft spot for the craft too. Hope you are sleeping well in your new room. 🙂

  4. Julia, you completely transformed the space and made it so special! I love love love the personal touches. Ultimately, you need to feel good about what you see in your home, especially your bedroom and I totally respect that you stayed true to that – not many people do! I love the bird artwork you chose. They’re stunning, and compliment the colours of the room so beautifully. And that chandelier! Gorge!

  5. Gorgeous. This is glamour with a capital G. I love that quilt and the chandy is totally amazing.

  6. The bedroom turned out stunning! I love the wall color and all of the personal touches throughout, especially the story behind the quilt. Beautiful work!

  7. Julia, I love this! That chandelier is FANtastic! The pic of it from below is really cool, and it’s such a great touch in the room. Can’t believe you made those curtains–they look amazing. So lovely!

  8. Awwww…that quilt will help you remember grandma 🙂 I love your choice of color. The bedding ties in beautifully, and it should be all about what YOU love. I also own one one those heron prints, by the way. Good job.

  9. What an amazing transformation! A true job well done. I adore the color palette you selected. It feels fresh yet classic. The six weeks went by so fast. I completed our entry, living and dining areas in a new to us 30 year old house. So, cheers to us! Have a wonderful weekend.

  10. Your room looks fabulous. My favorites? The wall color and the chandelier. I’m sure your friend was glad that it went to a good home. The quilt looks like the perfect option and the beadboard wallpaper is genius.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.