Birthday wish come true

It was my birthday over the weekend. BlogPodium was my present to myself, but what about that other item that was on my wish list? A certain chair that I was hoping my family would give me…

Sitting on a cardboard box

Hmm… that’s certainly a new chair. Not sure about the style… or the comfort for that matter.

Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

Ikea Strandmon box

Ooooh! Goody, goody, gumshoes. I think my birthday wish has come true!

Behold Strandmon in my basement.

Ikea Strandmon wing chair

Behold me in Strandmon (reading the Inspired Styles book that I won through BlogPodium… and wearing Mickey Mouse socks… hmm).

Lounging in Ikea's Strandmon wing chair

All of my previous discomfort is gone. I love Strandmon. He perhaps may have the title of most comfortable chair ever. It’s only fair. After all, he shares the room with the most comfortable couch ever.

Thank you Matt and all of my family members for going in on this gift.

Now for a footstool and side table… and boy do I have ideas, people. Stay tuned!

Did you add any new furniture to your household over the weekend? What are some of your favourite birthday presents? Does anyone else buy themselves gifts for their birthdays? Does anyone else wear cartoon character socks?

9 thoughts on “Birthday wish come true

  1. Hi Julia,
    It was great to meet you on Saturday. I had a great time. We did see a piece of furniture last week that would have to bump something else as we are out of room.
    I buy myself books for all occasions- birthdays, Long weekends, valentines day- I may throw one or two in the order for family.
    How is the book you won?

  2. Happy belated birthday! Standmon looks amazing!! Not only comfy, but totally stylin’. I got a piece of furniture OUT of my home yesterday – we bought a beautiful change-table/dresser for my son and his girlfriend, who are expecting my first grandchild next month :D I found the dresser on Used Vic (our online classifieds), and it matches the crib they got, it turns out, pretty much exactly. That’s what I was aiming for! They’re happy with it, and I’m happy to have it out of my living room, too.

Leave a Reply

